People

Electrical Engineering

Simon Ben-Avi

Professor Emeritus
benavi@cooper.edu

Ingrid Burrington

Adjunct Professor
ingrid.burrington@cooper.edu

Matthew Cavallaro

Adjunct Professor
cavallar@cooper.edu

Michael Chen

Adjunct Professor
michael.chen@cooper.edu

Christopher Curro

Adjunct Professor
Electrical Engineering
christopher.curro@cooper.edu

Sean Cusack

Adjunct Professor
sean.cusack@cooper.edu

Fred L. Fontaine

Jesse Sherman Professor of Electrical Engineering
Chair of Electrical Engineering
212.353.4335 | fred.fontaine@cooper.edu

Michael Giglia

Mechanical/Electrical Engineering Technician
Adjunct Instructor
Mechanical Engineering
212.353.4327 | michael.giglia@cooper.edu

Daniel Gitzel

Adjunct Professor
Electrical Engineering
daniel.gitzel@cooper.edu

Jeff Hakner

Assistant Director of Telecommunications
Adjunct Professor
Electrical Engineering
212.353.4353 | jeff.hakner@cooper.edu

Lawrence S. Hausman

Adjunct Professor
Electrical Engineering
larry.hausman@cooper.edu

Timothy R. Hoerning

Adjunct Professor
Electrical Engineering
timothy.hoerning@cooper.edu

Christopher Hong

Adjunct Professor
Computer Science
christopher.hong@cooper.edu

Neil Jackman

Adjunct Professor
Electrical Engineering

Krishna Karra

Adjunct Professor
krishna.karra@cooper.edu

Sam Keene

Professor of Electrical Engineering
212.353.4331 | keene@cooper.edu

Stuart Kirtman

Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering
212.353.4339 | stuart.kirtman@cooper.edu

Ralph L. Knapp

Professor Emeritus

Ja-beom "JB" Koo

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering
212.353.4332 | jb.koo@cooper.edu

Ian J. Kremenic

Adjunct Professor
Electrical Engineering
ian.kremenic@cooper.edu

Brian Frost LaPlante

Adjunct Professor
Electrical Engineering
brian.frost-laplante@cooper.edu

Robert Marano

Adjunct Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering
rob.marano@cooper.edu

Aladino Melendez

Electrical Engineering Technician
212.353.4346 | dinom@cooper.edu

Shivam Mevawala

Adjunct Professor
Electrical Engineering
mevawa@cooper.edu

Cory Nezin

Adjunct Professor
Electrical Engineering
cory.nezin@cooper.edu; cory.nezin@gmail.com

Nebahat Noyan

Adjunct Professor
nebahat.noyan@cooper.edu

Carl Sable

Professor of Computer Engineering
212.353.4336 | carl.sable@cooper.edu

Melvin Sandler

Professor Emeritus
eldad@cooper.edu

Lisa A. Shay

Associate Dean for Educational Innovation
Professor of Electrical Engineering
212.353.4309 | Lisa.Shay@cooper.edu

Neveen Shlayan

Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering
212.353.4333 | neveen.shlayan@cooper.edu

Barry L. Shoop

Dean
Professor of Electrical Engineering
212.353.4290 | barry.shoop@cooper.edu

Eugene Sokolov

Adjunct Professor
Electrical Engineering
eugene.sokolov@cooper.edu

Ethan Thorsen-Lusterman

Adjunct Professor
Ethan.Lusterman@cooper.edu

Karol Wadolowski

Adjunct Professor
Electrical Engineering
wadolows@cooper.edu

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.