People

S

Carl Sable

Professor of Computer Engineering
212.353.4336 | carl.sable@cooper.edu

Constanza Salazar

Adjunct Instructor
212.353.4273 | constanza.salazar@cooper.edu

Michael Samuelian

Assistant Professor Adjunct
212.353.4220 | samuel@cooper.edu

Brad Samuels

Assistant Professor Adjunct

Melvin Sandler

Professor Emeritus
eldad@cooper.edu

Julio Santillana

Chief Engineer
212.353.4160 | julios@cooper.edu

Raquel Sapeg

Director of Academic Operations
212.353.4258 | raquel.sapeg@cooper.edu

John Sarich

Adjunct Professor
212.353.4273 | jsarich@cooper.edu

Christine Sarkissian

Manager, Rental Programs
212.353.4196 | sarkis@cooper.edu

Gail Satler

Adjunct Professor
212.353.4273 | gail.satler@cooper.edu

Ruben M. Savizky

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Professor of Chemistry
212.353.4372 | ruben.savizky@cooper.edu

Sohnya Sayres

Associate Professor
212.353.4217, Rm. 317 - 41CS | sohnya.sayres@cooper.edu

Tommy Schaperkotter

Assistant Professor Adjunct
tommy.schaperkotter@cooper.edu

Suzanna Schmeelk

Instructor, Retraining Program for Immigrant Engineers

Carter Seddon

Technical Assistant, Photography
carter.seddon@cooper.edu

Mili Shah

Professor of Mathematics
Chair of Mathematics Department
C.V. Starr Distinguished Professor of Engineering
212.353.4306 | mili.shah@cooper.edu

Hira Shahbaz

Graduate Assistant for Student Activities
hira.shahbaz@cooper.edu

Fred Shallcrass

Instructor
fred@frerejones.com

Monica Shapiro

Academic Administrator
212.353.4220 | mshapiro@cooper.edu

Will Shapiro

Assistant Professor Adjunct
212.353.4220

Lisa A. Shay

Associate Dean for Educational Innovation
Professor of Electrical Engineering
212.353.4309 | Lisa.Shay@cooper.edu

Lily Sheng

Technical Assistant, Film/Video
lily.sheng@cooper.edu

Nick Sherman

instructor
nick.sherman@cooper.edu

Sheng Shi

Assistant Professor Adjunct
212.353.4220 | shis@cooper.edu

Inessa Shkolnikov

Design Director
212.353.4213, 212.353.4210 | inessa@cooper.edu

Neveen Shlayan

Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering
212.353.4333 | neveen.shlayan@cooper.edu

Barry L. Shoop

Dean
Professor of Electrical Engineering
212.353.4290 | barry.shoop@cooper.edu

George W. Sidebotham

Professor of Mechanical Engineering
212.353.4308 | sidebo@cooper.edu

Fred Siegel

Professor Emeritus of History

Judith Simonian

Instructor

Amanda Simson

Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering
212.353.4373 | amanda.simson@cooper.edu

Rosa Singamenggala

Frankie's Kitchen
212.353.4032

Beth Slack

Senior Budget Analyst
Administrative Assistant to the Associate Dean for Educational Innovation
212.353.4287 | beth.slack@cooper.edu

Aaron Slodounik

Adjunct Assistant Professor
212.353.4273 | aaron.slodounik@cooper.edu

Robert Smilowitz

Adjunct Professor
robert.smilowitz@wai.com

Robert W. Smyth

Professor of Mathematics
212.353.4395 | robert.smyth@cooper.edu

Gustavo Soares

Instructor, Continuing Education

Eugene Sokolov

Adjunct Professor
Electrical Engineering
eugene.sokolov@cooper.edu

Raymond Solga

Part-Time Librarian
raymond.solga@cooper.edu

Laura Sparks

President
212.353.4240 | lsparks@cooper.edu

Avra Spector

Adjunct Instructor
212.353.4218 | aspector@cooper.edu

Daniel M. Speyer

Adjunct Professor
Mechanical Engineering
daniel.speyer@cooper.edu

Emily L. Spratt

Adjunct Assistant Professor
212.353.4273 | emily.spratt@cooper.edu

Evan Spritzer

Adjunct Assistant Professor
evan.spritzer@cooper.edu

Liza St. James

Writing Associate
Liza.StJames@cooper.edu

Danniely Staback

Assistant Professor Adjunct
212.353.4220

Angela Starita

Senior Writer
212.353.4157 | astarita@cooper.edu

James Stevenson

Adjunct Professor
Chemical Engineering
james.stevenson@cooper.edu

Mary Stieber

Professor of Classics and Art History
212.353.4394, Rm. 323 - 41CS | mary.stiebe@cooper.edu

Keith Stokeld

Controller
212.353.4152 | kstokeld@cooper.edu

Nithilam Subbaian

Adjunct Professor
Computer Engineering
subbaian@cooper.edu

Massi Surratt

Adjunct Professor
Civil Engineering
massi.surratt@cooper.edu

Brian Swann

Adjunct Professor
212.353.4279 | brian.swann@cooper.edu

Tom Syku

Adjunct Professor
Civil Engineering
tom.syku@cooper.edu

Kent Szlauderbach

Writing Associate
szlauder@cooper.edu

  • Founded by inventor, industrialist and philanthropist Peter Cooper in 1859, The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art offers education in art, architecture and engineering, as well as courses in the humanities and social sciences.

  • “My feelings, my desires, my hopes, embrace humanity throughout the world,” Peter Cooper proclaimed in a speech in 1853. He looked forward to a time when, “knowledge shall cover the earth as waters cover the great deep.”

  • From its beginnings, Cooper Union was a unique institution, dedicated to founder Peter Cooper's proposition that education is the key not only to personal prosperity but to civic virtue and harmony.

  • Peter Cooper wanted his graduates to acquire the technical mastery and entrepreneurial skills, enrich their intellects and spark their creativity, and develop a sense of social justice that would translate into action.